Last post Oct 28, 2019 03:13 AM by Fei Han - MSFT
Oct 25, 2019 08:10 AM|robs23|LINK
So far I've been publishing via FTP with "Delete all files prior to publish" option checked. Unfortunately, I have now a "Files" folder in my IIS project folder on the server and there are stored files (images, etc) the users have added e.g. user profile
photo. I don't want to loose this folder accidently during publish. What are my options? So far I know I can:
Could you help me decide which option is better? Or propose better option if there's any?
Oct 28, 2019 03:13 AM|Fei Han - MSFT|LINK
uncheck "Delete all files prior to publish" option. The easiest solution, not necessairly the best one. What are the downsides actually?
If not check "Delete all files prior to publish" option, some outdated files or files not in use might be preserved on the web server.
make "Files" being a virtual folder of some folder above project folder (which won't get deleted during publish). I don't know excatly how to do that.
Yes, you can make "Files" being a virtual folder, to achieve it, you can refer to the following document.